Overlaid Terrain question

G

Guest

Guest
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

Does Overlaid Terrain replace my lands' normal mana abilities, or just
add to them?


Card Name: Overlaid Terrain
Cost: 2GG
Type: Enchantment
Pow/Tgh:
Rules Text: As Overlaid Terrain comes into play, sacrifice all
lands you control.

Lands you control have "T: Add two mana of any one
color to your mana pool."
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

On Sun, 20 Feb 2005 21:16:20 -0600, B M <somebody@somewhere.com> wrote:
> Does Overlaid Terrain replace my lands' normal mana abilities, or just
>add to them?

It doesn't use the word "instead" or "prevent" or "skip", so is not any sort
of replacement or prevention effect. It gives the land(s) an ability in
addition to any they may currently have. You may use the granted ability, or
the normal ability, but not 'both at once'.

Overlaid Terrain 2GG Enchantment
As ~ comes into play, sacrifice all lands you control. / Lands you control have
"Tap: Add two mana of any one color to your mana pool."

Dave
--
\/David DeLaney posting from dbd@vic.com "It's not the pot that grows the flower
It's not the clock that slows the hour The definition's plain for anyone to see
Love is all it takes to make a family" - R&P. VISUALIZE HAPPYNET VRbeable<BLINK>
http://www.vic.com/~dbd/ - net.legends FAQ & Magic / I WUV you in all CAPS! --K.
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

B M wrote:

> Does Overlaid Terrain replace my lands' normal mana abilities, or just
> add to them?
>
>
> Card Name: Overlaid Terrain
> Cost: 2GG
> Type: Enchantment
> Pow/Tgh:
> Rules Text: As Overlaid Terrain comes into play, sacrifice all
> lands you control.
>
> Lands you control have "T: Add two mana of any one
> color to your mana pool."

Adds to them. Your lands continue to have the same abilities they've
always have (which usually includes tapping for mana in some fashion),
but you can now also tap them for two mana of any one color instead.
But not in addition; you can tap a Forest for G, OR you can tap a
Forest for two of any one color, but you can't tap a Forest for G
AND two of any one color.
--
Christopher Mattern

"Which one you figure tracked us?"
"The ugly one, sir."
"...Could you be more specific?"