Parts salvaging?

bitterazn

Distinguished
Jan 4, 2010
Sorry if this is a basic question, a friend recommended this forum but I can't find a search function ...

Anyway, I'm trying to buy a cheapie quad monitor system. Plenty of pre-fabbed deals out there but nothing with dual x16 slots. I tinkered with the idea of getting a x1 card or using an extension adapter with a low-profile x16 but it seemed unideal.

So now I'm tinkering with the idea of building my own system, which I've never done before. But given that most of my wants are pretty standard, it seems like the best value would be to buy a discounted OEM model and just swap out the motherboard + add a GPU. Is it that simple or will I run into a host of compatibility issues?

(Related, but not a motherboard question: will I have issues running an OEM O/S after I've swapped out a motherboard? My understanding is that the software is "locked" from getting transferred to a new computer but I'm not sure how it works ...)

festerovic

Distinguished
You should just build your own system. It really isn't too hard, and if you were going to recycle parts from a oem, then you would be doing it yourself anyways, without having to overpay the oem!

Regarding the parts - you shouldn't have much problem with most of the parts. But a oem pc will most likely not have a buff enough PSU for your needs if you plan on SLI/Crossfire.

You are correct regarding the OS being locked to the motherboard on oem machines. It will not activate on your new system without calling M$.