[SOLVED] PC black-screens & restarts after installing new RAM?

masterfalcon3000

Reputable
Sep 5, 2017
So i bought a new ram today Gskill 3600mhz c16 (2x8) on B450 gaming plus max , And i did adjust it to 3600mhz as it supposed to be , After couple of minutes of playing games the pc goes into black screen and restart it self , So i did adjust the speed to 3200 mhz at 1.4 volt and it works

Notes : specs ryzen 3600 @3.7ghz b450 gaming plus max

I did try 3600mhz on 1.45 volts and the black screen restart appears again
I did run memtest86 on both sticks with no errors

Questions :
1-Isn't the ram supposed to run at 3600 mhz with no issues since that's the specs on it ? Or is it's a voltage issue ? [ I'm not an expert when comes to overclocking and adjusting the voltages ]
2- Does this issue a sign of defected ram ? should i return them back ?
3- Is 1.45 volt high and danger to harm the ram ? Can someone tell me the safest voltage for daily gaming use ?

Last edited:
Solution
@masterfalcon3000
The memory tests ok, so I doubt the issue is with the RAM. Would I send the RAM back? Maybe, but if I did I would replace it with another brand ... this could more of compatibility issue than a RAM issue. It sort of depends on where you got the RAM from and how generous they are on returns.

It is kinda possible that this is a heat issue if the inside of your box is getting hot while gaming (the crash/restart occurs only when gaming?)

If your RAM is rated for 3600 at 1.35V, why are you running it at 1.4V. More voltage = more heat and shorter life.

As to number 4. Check the fine print on your motherboard specs and it says 3600 is an overclock. It should work, but they don't promise it will work. None of...
@masterfalcon3000