PC build keeps restarting every 3 seconds after CPU power is plugged in

Status
Not open for further replies.
Sep 5, 2018
Hi there,

I'm new to the PC building world but have experience with circuit design and custom electronics. I've recently run into an issue after assembly where my build gets stuck in a reboot loop (everything turns on for 3 seconds, shuts-off, turns on for 3 seconds, shuts-off, repeat. etc.) All the enclosure fans revs up too while it is on.

Here are my components:

Enclosure: Corsair Obsidian 250D
Motherboard: ASRock - H370M-ITX/ac Mini ITX LGA1151
CPU: Intel - Core i5-8400 2.8GHz 6-Core Processor
Memory: GeIL - Pristine 16GB (1 x 16GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
Power: EVGA - SuperNOVA G3 750W 80+ Gold Certified Fully-Modular ATX Power Supply
Storage: Samsung - 860 Evo 250GB 2.5" Solid State Drive

Note: I have not selected a graphics card and am hoping to just use the integrated graphics in the core i5.

I had selected these component to ensure they would be compatible. I've just recently confirmed that via PC Part Picker's website.

Timeline of my troubleshooting efforts:

• ■ After initially installing everything, I decided to remove power from devices that didn't need to be powered in order to isolate the issue.

■ I removed power from SSD. The infinite reboot cycle persisted.

■ I removed all auxillary connectors (USB, audio, etc.). Infinite reboot cycle persisted.

■ I removed power going from the EVGA power supply to the CPU power input (i.e. not the motherboard input). This is the ATX 12V Power Connector (ATX12V1) per the user manual.

Link to motherboard manual - http://asrock.pc.cdn.bitgravity.com/Manual/H370M-ITXac.pdf

■ After removing the CPU power input, the infinite reboot cycle stopped.

■ After plugging the CPU power back in, the infinite reboot cycle came back.