[SOLVED] PC not booting, no post.

GRich7

Commendable
Aug 22, 2020
Hello,

I frequent these forums often and is my main source for problem solving and other valuable information regarding PCs and this is my first time posting.

My PC started showing only 8gb/ 16gb memory in bios a while back then started to not post after being shutdown for a period of time. I needed to constantly shutdown and power up and eventually it would post.
When powering up, all fans, GPU are operative, lights, but the CPU fan has very slow to no movement at first.
  • I cleaned, re-seated all components including CPU.
  • Checked cpu socket for bent pins.
  • Individually checked ram G.Skill 4x4gb and the ram slots, which they seem fine and all operative.

I'm assuming it's a motherboard issue, but would like confirmation if possible from the community.

System:
Asus Z77 Motherboard
i5 3470k CPU
EVGA GTX 680 GPU
G.Skill Ram 4x4gb
650 Thermaltake PSU

System worked perfect for past few years. I know it's pretty old system, but would just like to refurbish with minimum dent in wallet.

Any help would be appreciated.

Solution
Hello,

I frequent these forums often and is my main source for problem solving and other valuable information regarding PCs and this is my first time posting.

My PC started showing only 8gb/ 16gb memory in bios a while back then started to not post after being shutdown for a period of time. I needed to constantly shutdown and power up and eventually it would post.
When powering up, all fans, GPU are operative, lights, but the CPU fan has very slow to no movement at first.
  • Individually checked ram G.Skill 4x4gb and the ram slots, which they seem fine and all operative.
I'm assuming it's a motherboard issue, but would like...

Vic 40

Titan
Ambassador
Might be motherboard maybe even cpu.

Maybe that a more thorough cleaning might help,
The Tech YES Lovin' Process in 2019 - (Build a Used PC Faster than ever) Tech YES City Geverifieerd • 14K weergaven Nieuw