[SOLVED] PC shuts down and won't boot for some time

Jun 29, 2019
Hi everyone,

This is my first time posting here and I hope I'm doing it correctly and in the right section.

I would like to ask for your help as I am having a big problem with my desktop gaming computer. It suddenly shuts down after a random amount of time. It started a few days ago and it happens at anytime, sometimes after 10 seconds, sometimes after 3 hours. There is no warning signs before it happens and it just shuts down like if there was a power outage.

The strange part is that the motherboard's LEDs are still on but the PC won't reboot if I don't unplug the PSU. Even if I wait for 10 hours but don't unplug the PSU, it won't boot. If I unplug the PSU and wait for 10 minutes, it boots.

A similar issue happened to me a few months ago with my computer not booting after a regular shutdown until I unplugged the PSU. At that time, I took apart everything, tested the PSU with a paperclip, and put everything back together. It solved the issue.

Another problem that might be related: for the past year, the screen hasn't been turning on when the PC boots. I get to Windows but the screen doesn't show anything unless I reboot. I suspected my GPU or DP cable to be responsible but the problem persisted even with no GPU and an HDMI cable directly connected to the motherboard. I also tested my two RAM sticks and they don't seem to be the culprit.

Other strange signs: when I can finally reboot after unplugging the PSU, I get some visual glitches on Windows (screen not centered, characters overlapping, weird borders), also get some audio issues with the sound crackling and my internet connection is extremely slow (down from 500+ Mb/s to 3 or 4 Mb/s) and I can barely use the internet. A reboot fix these issues until the next crash.