Question Perplexing HDD issue

Dec 6, 2020
Here's one that's similar to other posts but it's not one I've found online anywhere, I've studied up and attempted many fixes. It has led me here in hopes of an answer.

I recently acquired 2 2tb seagate pipeline hard drives from 2 dish hoppers. They came from my friends mother who never set them up they sat in brand new boxes for a few years. So almost unused.

I have windows 7 64bit on my nostalgic gaming rig. It's an old dell dimension case with an hp leonite mobo 4gb ram Pentium D 3.0ghz

I have a seagate 1tb with my OS right now. Works fine. I was going to add one of the 2tb drives as a storage drive. Heres where it starts.

I was a computer tech for 13 years and am still a big time hobbyist. I didn't think this would be such an issue

I plug in the first drive boot up, drivers install, device needs to be initialized, I click ok for mbr, get an I/O error. I try gpt get another error, I realize it is recognizing 128gb unallocated, which I cannot format at all. So I check my bio, the bios sees 2000gb, maybe the drive is faulty or in failure? I booted my windows 7 installation disc, drive shows up as 128gb unallocated same issue.

Now I try the 2nd drive and literally go through the same steps excluding driver install and have the same issue.

Next I booted gparted and it sees an unknown 1.7tb partition. I deleted it and had 1.81tb free I formatted it to ntfs and gparted shows its all working fine. I was excited to see if windows will read it.

I boot back to windows and it's still 128gb unallocated... I checked for drivers its up to date, my OS has all the updates.