Phanteks extension cables melting

ali.alawieh.93

Prominent
Dec 3, 2017
I bought some cable extensions from amazon a while ago, to match my build theme.
These ones: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01G7VSFEI/ref=twister_B01HBN9TLO?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

They started melting when I replaced my PSU with a better one.

I had a bad PSU before: Thermaltake Smart SE 730, which died on me, and started showing voltage drops down to 10.8V on the 12V rail.

So I replaced it with the Seasonic Focus+ Gold 750. I know it's a great PSU since the lowest reading I get under load is 11.903V.

Shortly after, the PCIe cables, going to the graphics card, started melting right where it makes contact with the card: not the cables themselves, but the plastic tip at the end.

I replaced the cable end with another one, and it held up for a month, until I started playing some more demanding games, like far cry 5. (same cable, just replaced plastic end)

Here are my PC specs, along with other hardware to give you an idea about power consumption:

- i5-8600K @ 5GHz with 1.3V
- 1080Ti, not manually OC'ed, just set set the power slider in afterburner to it's max 120%, and let nvidia boost do the rest
- 8GB ram 2666Hz
- An SSD and an HDD
- A water pump, probably a D5 pump
- an led strip
- 5 fans

It's worth mentioning that the Seasonic cables come with a "bulky" end to them, as if there was some capacitor hidden there. Could it be an incompatibility issue?

As you can tell my PC is watercooled, so thermals aren't an issue at all.

What can be the problem?

Thanks.

Doctor Rob

Distinguished
Jul 21, 2008