[SOLVED] Possible MOBO failure or HDD failure - not sure

Feb 5, 2019
I've been running into a lot of problems with my computer recently. And I apologize if this is a bit wordy, and I feel that I need to write everything out for the issue to be understood.

I built it in either 2014 or 2015. To preface this both my RAM and my HDD are from a previous build and I've been using both for roughly maybe 10 years, if not longer? This is why I'm not sure whether it's my MOBO or these older components. I've been encountering odd problems for about 2 weeks now. I have NOT encountered any blue screens whatsoever.

The first issue was that my monitor wasn't detecting input from my graphics card, I remedied this by shutting my computer off and troubleshooting my RAM by removing all of my RAM and then starting up the computer and shutting it off testing each ram (4x2gb). That issue appears to be resolved and I haven't had it since.

The most recent issue is that whenever I try to put any new files onto my HDD the HDD appears to have issues like stuttering and then it states that there has been a "Fatal Harddisk Failure". When this occurs I try to scan the HDD to no avail and then shortly afterwards it is no longer visible under "My Computer". So I opened up my case unplugged it from the MOBO and then plugged it back in again and I can access the files on it but I can't put anything new on it or else it appears to start this cycle again.

I can still watch things off of the HDD but it appears that it's slower to load folders and the like, I can also move stuff off of the HDD.

Now I'm concerned that it's a MOBO issue because of what I have listed above, but I'm not really 100% certain so I'm hoping someone here can assist me.

- I have yet to try using memtest on my RAM to see if that's an issue, I last ran it about a year ago.
- I noticed the issues with my HDD when I was torrenting anime.

CPU - Intel i5 - 4690k - not overclocked
Motherboard - Asrock Z97M Anniversary