power connection to new Asus gtx 980

tjrpt6

Reputable
May 5, 2015
Hello Folks, I just received in a new 20th anniv. Asus gtx980 card. the nice wiring they included 2X 8pin connectors won't plug into the Corsair HX850i PSU. Any Ideas on how to properly power it. also a 4 pin Aux power connector on the card side. not sure which plug goes in here. yes, I am an amateur and appreciate any help

Solution
The correct cables will be labeled 'pcie' or 'gpu', not anything else. One end will be an 8pin connector that fits in one of the 4 slots above the 20+4 pin motherboard wires, the other end is a 6+2pin connector that goes into the gpu. The gtx980 20th is a possible 375w card, requires 2x of the 6+2pin connectors. Not sure where you are seeing an additional 4pin connector, only thing I could find was 2x 8pin (6+2).

Karadjgne

Titan
Ambassador
The correct cables will be labeled 'pcie' or 'gpu', not anything else. One end will be an 8pin connector that fits in one of the 4 slots above the 20+4 pin motherboard wires, the other end is a 6+2pin connector that goes into the gpu. The gtx980 20th is a possible 375w card, requires 2x of the 6+2pin connectors. Not sure where you are seeing an additional 4pin connector, only thing I could find was 2x 8pin (6+2).

Solution

tjrpt6

Reputable
May 5, 2015