Power Supply to Motherboard

Vyperpunk

Honorable
Jun 27, 2013
Hi everyone. I'm very new to the computer building thing. In fact, this is the first computer I've ever built. Sorry if I sound like I'm asking dumb questions, but I may in way over my head. Here is a breakdown of what I am using:

- Phantom 410 case
- NZXT Hale90 V2 1000w
- Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+
- AMD FX-8350 Vishera 4.0GHz (4.2GHz Turbo) Socket AM3+ 125W Eight-Core
- Asus GTX770
- G. Skill Ripjaws X-Series (16GB)
- Corsair H100i

I have everything installed (took me about 6 hours since I really had no idea what I was doing). All the wires have been connected, with the exception of one. Here is my issue. The 12v ATX (8 pin) connector that fits into the motherboard doesn't fit in the power supply on the other end (4+4 pin). This power supply came with 2 of these connectors. The rest of the connectors have have a different pattern on the pins. Is there another way I can get this to work? Maybe an adapter of some sort? I was looking at this one here

I have an adapter that will fit the molex end of this plug to connect it to a peripheral on the power supply, but will that be sufficient power? Any help you can give me is greatly appreciated.

Vyperpunk

Honorable
Jun 27, 2013
Hi ksham,

That's what I initially thought, but I tried to switch the cord around, but it wont plug into the motherboard from the other end because of the pattern on the pins (some are rounded and some are square. I'm guessing one is power and one is ground). Let me see if I can upload a photo of the connectors.

And yes, I bought a 1000w power supply because I eventually intend to upgrade. Possibly dual video cards at some point.

Vyperpunk

Honorable
Jun 27, 2013
Here is a picture of the motherboard and the other end of the connector (4+4)
20130626_064736_zps22f057a2.jpg

20130626_064952_zpsd0412448.jpg

Also, are you suggesting that it would be unsafe to run the 1000w with my current build?

odiervr

Honorable
May 1, 2012