Quad GAMER Build between 1000-1500 ^_^

GamerJohn

Distinguished
May 17, 2008
Hello :hello:

I am new to this forum and I would like to say Hello to everyone and thank you for providing such wonderful information for me to review.

I am trying to build a gaming computer that will be used solely for gaming. I hope all the components can last a good long while and maybe I would replace the graphics card in a year or two. I am getting a quad core so the system will be that much more future proof.

This is my first time building so I would like everything to work with very little problems. When I overclock, I plan to clock the Q6600 2.4 to about 3-3.2 max because people seem to say that is stable. I would like to play the current games out as well as upcoming FPS's.

Everything will be bought through Newegg, Amazon, and clubit.

Monitor: 22" Samsung 2253BW or 22" Dell 2208 - Newegg - $270
Case: LIAN LI PC-B25B Black Aluminum ATX Mid Tower Computer Case - Newegg - $230
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 Stepping - clubit.com - $224
GPU: EVGA 8800gts 512mb OC - Amazon - $270 (no tax, free shipping)
Mobo: ABIT IP35 Pro or GIGABYTE GA-EX38-DS4 or GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L - Newegg - $110-200.
PSU: Corsair 520HX - Newegg - $110
HD: WD 640GB 7200rpm - Newegg - $110
Memory: 4gb (2x2gb) G.Skill 800 - Newegg - $80
CPU Cooler: Xigmatek HDT-S1283 + Arctic Silver 5 Thermal Compound - Newegg - $50
DVD Drive: Pioneer DVR-215DBK - Newegg - $30
OEM: Vista Home Premium 64bit OEM -$99.99