Question Random BSODs and crashing games ?

Page 2 - Seeking answers? Join the Tom's Hardware community: where nearly two million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.
Jan 27, 2022
44
1
30
BUILD
MOBO: B450 Tomahawk
CPU: Ryzen 5 3600
Ram: 2x8 Gb Corsair Vegance 36090mhz
GPU: Rx5700xt Sapphire Pulse
SSD Nvme Express XPG 512 GB
HDD: Credo un sata da 1TB
PS: Seasonic 650W Gold Plus

When I first did the build (in 2019) I didn't have any problem. In the last couple of months it became worst as now it's difficult even playing games as they keep crashing (sometimes with BSOD sometimes without)
Crashes are completely random..they can occur as soon as I turn on my pc or after few hours.


What I have done so far:
Format my SSD and install again win10
Teesting ram with MEMTest86--> no errors
testing SSD e HDD con Crystal --> no errors

Please see minidump on the following link:
https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1JyHbpSE6ZDxtKlvM69uHkniPF1rGgeA7?usp=sharing
 
Jan 27, 2022
44
1
30
if you changed CPU and GPU you would also need to replace motherboard and maybe ram and by that stage you almost have a new PC and I would hope it works by then... but blindly replacing parts seems a waste of money to me. I would take PC to a repair store before I started guessing.

AMD/Intel: I don't find either is better/worse. Based on my PC, they about same. So far had 6 PC, 3 of each.
I have had 2 BSOD in 6 years, one was on Intel and other on AMD. And both were my fault. So no, I don't see a difference.
As for BSOD, I may have seen more AMD systems than intel last year but that is also based on popularity, for a few years AMD were better for gaming than Intel and so I saw more of those in error reports. It will even itself out now the new Intel are better again.

I would have thought AMD GPU/CPU worked better just given they both made by AMD.

I see more crashes caused by Nvidia drivers than I do from AMD. Its rare to find an AMD gpu causing problems. Though generally if they do, its one specific error
the number of Nvidia cards sold is reason I see more problems from them. My card is an RTX 2070 Super and doesn't have the problems I see other people get.


My system is similar to yours
MB: Gigabyte Aorus X570
CPU R5 3600XT
Ram - 2 x 16gb Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro 3200mhz
GPU: RTX 2070 Super
SSD: Samsung 970 Evo plus 1tb
hdd: Western Digital 3tb
PSU: Seasonic Focus Plus Plat 750watt

i have helped someone with almost exact PC as I have, its pretty spooky.
I am only scared that we won’t find the issue. Fingers crossed!
 
Jan 27, 2022
44
1
30
it didn't feel like ram, I just thought it best to check as I have forgotten before and wasted peoples time.

Did you update Ethernet drivers?

I will keep throwing tests at you until PC gives me a clue. Just not now.

Byh the way, thank you so much for your kind help! it means a lot for me.
I did installed the last version of Ethernet drivers.
 
Jan 27, 2022
44
1
30
if you changed CPU and GPU you would also need to replace motherboard and maybe ram and by that stage you almost have a new PC and I would hope it works by then... but blindly replacing parts seems a waste of money to me. I would take PC to a repair store before I started guessing.

AMD/Intel: I don't find either is better/worse. Based on my PC, they about same. So far had 6 PC, 3 of each.
I have had 2 BSOD in 6 years, one was on Intel and other on AMD. And both were my fault. So no, I don't see a difference.
As for BSOD, I may have seen more AMD systems than intel last year but that is also based on popularity, for a few years AMD were better for gaming than Intel and so I saw more of those in error reports. It will even itself out now the new Intel are better again.

I would have thought AMD GPU/CPU worked better just given they both made by AMD.

I see more crashes caused by Nvidia drivers than I do from AMD. Its rare to find an AMD gpu causing problems. Though generally if they do, its one specific error
the number of Nvidia cards sold is reason I see more problems from them. My card is an RTX 2070 Super and doesn't have the problems I see other people get.


My system is similar to yours
MB: Gigabyte Aorus X570
CPU R5 3600XT
Ram - 2 x 16gb Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro 3200mhz
GPU: RTX 2070 Super
SSD: Samsung 970 Evo plus 1tb
hdd: Western Digital 3tb
PSU: Seasonic Focus Plus Plat 750watt

i have helped someone with almost exact PC as I have, its pretty spooky.

thank you so much for your feedback!
I have asked regarding the build as I did 2 build for my friends (both with nvidia Card gtx1650 and Intel 10400F) and they never had issues, so far..
also, this is gonna be weird I know, they do more FPS than me when playing fortnite. This could be as fortnite it's more optimized for Nvidia cards...but I had few issues with my card - Rx5700xt - in the past..some black screen, FPS drop, etcc...
 

gardenman

Splendid
Moderator
I ran the dump file through the debugger and got the following information: https://jsfiddle.net/mht2c796/show This link is for anyone wanting to help. You do not have to view it. It is safe to "run the fiddle" as the page asks.

File information:013122-5296-01.dmp (Jan 31 2022 - 05:16:21)
Bugcheck:KERNEL_LOCK_ENTRY_LEAKED_ON_THREAD_TERMINATION (153)
Probably caused by:memory_corruption (Process running at time of crash: chrome.exe)
Uptime:0 Day(s), 16 Hour(s), 28 Min(s), and 40 Sec(s)

This information can be used by others to help you. Someone else will post with more information. Please wait for additional answers. Good luck.
 

Colif

Win 11 Master
Moderator
I know I have never seen that BSOD before...

I don't know if this will help
right click start button

choose powershell (admin)

type SFC /scannow and press enter

once its completed, copy/paste this command into same window:

Repair-WindowsImage -Online -RestoreHealth and press enter

SFC fixes system files, second command cleans image files, re run SFC if it failed to fix all files and restart PC

that will only help if problem is part of windows itself.


can you remove avast while we look?

I try not to suggest this idea as it can break windows, which is ironic as its part of windows. Please follow the precautions.
I only suggest it now as if it is a driver to blame, its hiding. Driver Verifer puts drivers through hell and into situations they shouldn't be in, to see if they crash or not.
 
Jan 27, 2022
44
1
30
I know I have never seen that BSOD before...

I don't know if this will help
right click start button

choose powershell (admin)

type SFC /scannow and press enter

once its completed, copy/paste this command into same window:

Repair-WindowsImage -Online -RestoreHealth and press enter

SFC fixes system files, second command cleans image files, re run SFC if it failed to fix all files and restart PC

that will only help if problem is part of windows itself.


can you remove avast while we look?

I try not to suggest this idea as it can break windows, which is ironic as its part of windows. Please follow the precautions.
I only suggest it now as if it is a driver to blame, its hiding. Driver Verifer puts drivers through hell and into situations they shouldn't be in, to see if they crash or not.

Avast disinstalled.
I run your command through PowerShell and this is what I've got:

Avvio in corso della fase di verifica dell'analisi del sistema.
100% della verifica completato.

Protezione risorse di Windows: nessuna violazione di integrità trovata.
PS C:\Windows\system32> Repair-WindowsImage -Online -RestoreHealth and press enter
Repair-WindowsImage : Impossibile trovare un parametro posizionale che accetta l'argomento 'and'.
In riga:1 car:1
  • Repair-WindowsImage -Online -RestoreHealth and press enter
  • ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
+ CategoryInfo : InvalidArgument: :)) [Repair-WindowsImage], ParameterBindingException
+ FullyQualifiedErrorId : PositionalParameterNotFound,Microsoft.Dism.Commands.RepairWindowsImageCommand

PS C:\Windows\system32> Repair-WindowsImage -Online -RestoreHealth


Path :
Online : True
ImageHealthState : Healthy
RestartNeeded : False



PS C:\Windows\system32>
 

gardenman

Splendid
Moderator
I ran the dump file through the debugger and got the following information: https://jsfiddle.net/f2gc8n1t/show This link is for anyone wanting to help. You do not have to view it. It is safe to "run the fiddle" as the page asks.

File information:020122-6875-01.dmp (Feb 1 2022 - 07:43:01)
Bugcheck:SYSTEM_SERVICE_EXCEPTION (3B)
Probably caused by:memory_corruption (Process running at time of crash: League of Legends.exe)
Uptime:1 Day(s), 2 Hour(s), 26 Min(s), and 04 Sec(s)

Comment: Avast still installed.

This information can be used by others to help you. Someone else will post with more information. Please wait for additional answers. Good luck.
 

Colif

Win 11 Master
Moderator
it was showing as installed on last crash dated: Debug session time: Tue Feb 1 at 07:43:01.072 2022 (UTC - 5:00)

And I can sure see a lot of it there
Aug 30 2021aswElam.sysAvast ELAM driver

Nov 29 2021aswArDisk.sysAvast Antivirus http://www.avast.com/
Nov 29 2021aswArPot.sysAvast Antivirus http://www.avast.com/
Nov 29 2021aswbidsdriver.sysAvast Antivirus http://www.avast.com/
Nov 29 2021aswbidsh.sysAvast Antivirus http://www.avast.com/
Nov 29 2021aswbuniv.sysAvast Antivirus http://www.avast.com/
Nov 29 2021aswKbd.sysAvast Keyboard Filter driver http://www.avast.com/
Nov 29 2021aswMonFlt.sysAvast Antivirus http://www.avast.com/
Nov 29 2021aswRdr2.sysAvast Antivirus http://www.avast.com/
Nov 29 2021aswRvrt.sysAvast Antivirus http://www.avast.com/
Nov 29 2021aswSnx.sysAvast Antivirus http://www.avast.com/
Nov 29 2021aswSP.sysAvast Antivirus http://www.avast.com/
Nov 29 2021aswVmm.sysAvast Antivirus http://www.avast.com/

so if you did take it off, it didn't listen. It might have seen you as a threat, see here - https://www.lifewire.com/how-to-uninstall-avast-antivirus-4767217

I am only person here who is probably on Feb 2 so far.

Can you run driver Verifer?
 

Colif

Win 11 Master
Moderator
I try not to suggest this idea as it can break windows, which is ironic as its part of windows. Please follow the precautions.
I only suggest it now as if it is a driver to blame, its hiding. Driver Verifer puts drivers through hell and into situations they shouldn't be in, to see if they crash or not.
did you do that?

also,
run command prompt (admin)
type chkdsk c: /f and press enter
2 paragraphs pop up, agree to run at restart by type Y and pressing enter
restart PC and let it run. On an ssd it shouldn't take long

corruption and fact it keeps evolving makes me think its storage. You checked ram so lets check storage.

there is another thought
try running Prime 95, it will check CPU & Ram - https://www.guru3d.com/files-details/prime95-download.html
Prime 95 how to Guide: http://www.playtool.com/pages/prime95/prime95.html
 
Jan 27, 2022
44
1
30
Hello,

sorry for being late.

Here is what I've done so far:

1. run command prompt (admin)
type chkdsk c: /f and press enter
2 paragraphs pop up, agree to run at restart by type Y and pressing enter
restart PC and let it run. On an ssd it shouldn't take long

DONE. I did see it restore something which was missing but I didn't see any pop up said if my SSD was ok or not. After I have restarted OS, I've had BSOD (please look the following link:=https://drive.google.com/file/d/1joEszZPAqjF5G3EMVvbwxtue0t6UPyMM/view?usp=sharing).

2. Unistalled AVG by using the following guide: https://www.avast.com/en-au/uninstall-utility#pc

3. Run Prime 95 but it failed (please look the screenshot at the following link:https://drive.google.com/file/d/1VUsJGjvcf-mTqhPk-s-JgK3tCem6BmhC/view?usp=sharing)

In the afternoon I will try to run driver Verifier again.

Thank you so much for your kind help.
 
Jan 27, 2022
44
1
30
this is your thread, take your time. No need to apologise

prime 95 = go to the directory you installed it to
open stress.txt and maybe copy/paste results in here.

don't worry about driver verifier yet.
here is what I've got:

[Thu Feb 3 17:47:02 2022]
FATAL ERROR: Rounding was 5224916802, expected less than 0.4
Hardware failure detected running 960K FFT size, consult stress.txt file.
FATAL ERROR: Rounding was 0.4999993364, expected less than 0.4
Hardware failure detected running 960K FFT size, consult stress.txt file.
FATAL ERROR: Rounding was 0.5, expected less than 0.4
Hardware failure detected running 960K FFT size, consult stress.txt file.
FATAL ERROR: Rounding was 0.5, expected less than 0.4
Hardware failure detected running 960K FFT size, consult stress.txt file.
FATAL ERROR: Rounding was 0.5, expected less than 0.4
Hardware failure detected running 960K FFT size, consult stress.txt file.
FATAL ERROR: Rounding was 4.198423695e+18, expected less than 0.4
Hardware failure detected running 960K FFT size, consult stress.txt file.
 

Colif

Win 11 Master
Moderator
Rounding errors can be fixed by giving more voltage to the ram in the bios. I cannot be specific about how much to add but I assume it lets you do it incrementally. I would raise it a little and test it running Prime, raising it until it stops giving you those errors.

That should fix the BSOD you are having.
 
Jan 27, 2022
44
1
30
Rounding errors can be fixed by giving more voltage to the ram in the bios. I cannot be specific about how much to add but I assume it lets you do it incrementally. I would raise it a little and test it running Prime, raising it until it stops giving you those errors.

That should fix the BSOD you are having.
I went to the BIOS setting and I have discovered that XMP was disabled. Can't remember if we disabled it at first. I have turned it on again but problem still persist on PRIME )% with the same error. I bet frequency it's different than voltage. So, regarding what you said, do I have to increase or decrease memory voltage? And by saying memory voltage are you relating to the CPU or RAM? just to be sure I am doing the right thing.

I have also found this thread https://forums.tomshardware.com/threads/prime95-hardware-failure.3679786/ which it seems to have my same problem.
Do you think RAM or CPU could be faulty? Like as I said in the beggining, I didn't have any problem when I've made the build in 2019 but problems started later.

Thank you so much!
 

Colif

Win 11 Master
Moderator
Increase the voltages on the ram

i think ram can go bad over time. I never would have believed it except for answering questions on here. So its possible it was fine for first 2 years and just goes bad.

xmp would have increased voltage but i would go back to stock and increase from there

seems it can also be low CPU voltage - https://appuals.com/prime95-fatal-error-rounding/
 
Last edited: