Question Recent PC build crashing in all games to desktop

Dec 4, 2023
I recently built a new pc a few days ago and games crash in a seemingly random timeframe, they will crash to desktop, giving no message and instantly cutting off audio and visual feedback once the crash occurs, as if I was alt-f4ing. One of those blue screens I read the error for and it was “Hyper_Visualization Error” . I have XMP disabled, Rebar OFF. I have downloaded the latest nVidia game ready driver aswell. I’m very confused as I have never built a PC and used a laptop before, never really having any of these issues, and when I rarely did they would give me a clear readout of what went wrong and then have an easy fix. Does anyone know where to start? The GPU rarely goes to 80C and the CPU rarely over 45C, Windows Memory Diagnostics Tool came up with nothing aswell.

CPU: I7 12700K

CPU cooler: MSI Mag Core 360 v2

Motherboard: Asus TUFF Z690 Plus Wifi LGA1700 Bios ver 2802

Ram: Corsair Vengeance 5600Mhz

SSD/HDD: MSI Spatium 2TB PCIE.4

GPU: NVIDIA RTX 3080 FE (this was bought used, even with a -200mhz the games still crash at similar rates, though 3d benchmark is more stable)

PSU: EVGA SUPERNOVA 850W 80Plus Gold is brand new

Chassis: Corsair 4000D Airflow

Monitor: Samsung Odyssey G5 27

punkncat

Polypheme
Ambassador
Is this only happening in games? For instance, if you ran Furmark on it, will it crash then as well?

If you take out the graphics card and run your desktop on the inegrated graphics does the PC remain stable? I mean, understanding that you can't run games like that, just curious.

Have you already gone in a triple checked every connection and each cable within the connections? Nothing loose? Nothing pushed backwards out of the connector?

Is Event Viewer showing you anything else as far as codes?

When you built this system, did you install all the base level drivers from the motherboards website? Are there any available BIOS updates that pertain to the system*?