Remove old hard drive

starkmccall

Commendable
Mar 28, 2016
I bought a 1TB hard drive to replace my 128gb one. I removed my old one and installed my new one. I also cloned everything from the old one to the new one. How do I make the new hard drive the default? Even though my old one is removed, it's still showing. I'm very new at this and I'm unsure as to where to go from here. I included a screenshot as well.

2yyzgnp.jpg

Solution
Hey there, starkmccall.

It's physically disconnected, but you can still see it!? I must admit that this is the first I've ever heard of this. Would you please open Disk Management and post a screenshot of what you see there (you can use imgur.com to upload the image)? Here's how to open it: How to access Disk Management in Windows to manage hard drives.

Basically when you clone a drive, the destination drive should have the exact same information and when you remove the source drive, your new HDD becomes your main (OS drive). However, sometimes you may need to go to your BIOS/UEFI and make sure that the new drive is the first booting device. If it's not, you can change that from the boot priority options.

Hope that helps...
Hey there, starkmccall.

It's physically disconnected, but you can still see it!? I must admit that this is the first I've ever heard of this. Would you please open Disk Management and post a screenshot of what you see there (you can use imgur.com to upload the image)? Here's how to open it: How to access Disk Management in Windows to manage hard drives.

Basically when you clone a drive, the destination drive should have the exact same information and when you remove the source drive, your new HDD becomes your main (OS drive). However, sometimes you may need to go to your BIOS/UEFI and make sure that the new drive is the first booting device. If it's not, you can change that from the boot priority options.

Hope that helps. Please let me know how it goes.
Boogieman_WD

Solution

starkmccall

Commendable