Build Advice Retro gaming build

i76700hquser

Reputable
Jul 3, 2019
Hi. First I'm going to say I have almost zero knowledge about retro PCs, although I have some knowledge about modern PCs.

I'm planning on building a retro gaming build.

I have some parts laying around, but since I'm not really knowledgeable about old PC parts, or even a person born in the 90s, I want to know if these parts are ok for a retro build.

Intel Pentium 4 HT 3.00GHz Northwood

Intel Stock Cooler (when I last used it, it was very loud and always at max speed)

ATI Radeon 9600 XT 256MB DDR

4x512MB DDR RAM

Albatron PX865PE Pro

HDD Seagate Barracuda 7200:7 80GB
PSU: FSP Group INC FSP300-60ATV, Premier LC-B300ATX. Still deciding between those two

I also want to know what era of games I would be able to play with these specs ?

Thanks!

For now I'm gonna be playing games at 1680x1050, but I'm probably going to buy a CRT if it's that much better.

This would be a very good system for anything up to mid XP (but not DOS) , that's when core duo came out, so for games after that your system is still going to play them fine but maybe not the greatest.
A CRT is only really relevant for way older games that run at 640 by 480 and below you don't want to blow those up so that each pixel ends up being a blob on the screen, since CRTs are analog they adjust to the resolution.

Thank you! What OS should I use on this?
Depends on what games you want to run.
Best would be one disk with XP sp2 and one with win 98, or dual boot on the same disk if you are up to that.
Also, back when I used this motherboard a year ago, it only recognized 30GB out of 80GB on my HDD, is this a normal occurrence on old boards?
Mobos can have limits on the size of disk they can see, but that doesn't mean that that was your issue for sure, could be something else as well.
30Gb is a very weird limit to have, 20Gb is common.

i76700hquser

Reputable
Jul 3, 2019