Question Running out of ideas for system that won't boot

Aug 31, 2022
Hello, all. I'm an occasional lurker, but a first-time poster. I've built several computers over the last decade or so, and while I wouldn't say I'm an expert, I generally know my way around. However, I've run into a problem for which I'm running out of troubleshooting ideas.

The components of the computer in question are available at https://pcpartpicker.com/user/PresentTense/saved/#view=Cxst7P. Recently, the storage HDD on this machine has been getting a bit full, so I decided to add another, as I have plenty of wattage, connections, and case space to spare. However, after connecting a new HDD, the computer refused to boot. The motherboard power light is on, and after pressing the power button, the fans start, but then immediately turn off after a fraction of a second. The motherboard speaker does not issue any post beeps.

This was troubling, so I removed the new HDD - and the computer still failed to boot. I checked all my data and power connections, but this didn't resolve the issue. Eventually, I tried booting without the original storage drive or the new storage drive - just the SSD boot drive - and the computer successfully started. With both functional and nonfunctional states, I now went through a long list of tests to find the problem, but I haven't been able to nail it down. I can start up only when neither HDD is installed, no matter what I try:

• A different power supply
  • Disconnecting the graphics card to reduce the wattage draw
  • Different SATA power cables and connections
  • Different SATA data cables and connections
  • Only the SSD boot drive and the new HDD (didn't work)
  • The old HDD in a different machine (worked)
  • The new HDD in a different machine (worked)