Rx 580 getting low fps even though it's not supposed to...

shanebanidhu2

Reputable
Jan 23, 2018
Hey guys! Hope whoever's reading this is having a great day/night :). Right so, I'm not a computer expert as most of you are. I just play games and that's all I do and know about. Just came here for help. ^^

So, I recently purchased a prebuilt PC due to the fact that I don't know how to build a PC and I don't have any family members who knows much about PC's to even build it so I gathered my money with the help of my mother and bought one which was well within my budget.

The specs of it are:
GPU: RX 580 8Gb Saphire Nitro +
CPU: Intel core i5 7400 3.2Gz - 3.5Ghz
PSU: Corsair 450 Watt
MOBO: Asus prime B250m-A

I'm assuming you won't need more details to help me with my issue!

Since you probably read the topic of this thread, you know what my issue is. The Rx 580 gets low fps on most games. For example, Minecraft, I get 100-200 and far cry 4 I get 20-30 on ultra when benchmarks on YouTube says otherwise..

Does anybody know what to do so it works properly? :(

Solution
Did you connect also the pcie power connector from your psu to the gpu? Make sure the connection is firm. If issue persists, do a clean install of gpu drivers. Use DDU and wipe out any drivers, then reboot and reinstall with the latest. You should not install drivers over previous ones with desktop amds. The fan control with these cards may be trouble and some 3rd party applications may not be able to take control of your gpu fans. Usually MSI Afterburner can override

toshibitsu

Distinguished
100 - 200 for Minecraft? that's actually pretty good. As for Far Cry, that's decent considering the ultra setting and what card you have. It's possible the CPU could be hindering performance. Do you know what your CPU/GPU usage is when you are running these games? Have you done a clean installation of the latest AMD drivers?

shanebanidhu2

Reputable
Jan 23, 2018