Should i get the i5-3500K or i5-2500K?

CrispyFry

Prominent
Aug 9, 2017
I did my research and at first i was sold on buying the 3570K but i read somewhere that the 2500K OC's better, and I'm new to overclocking BTW. The pricing difference is +/-$10.

Currently i have an:
I3-3220
4Gigs of RAM (used to be 8, the other one recently died on me)
and a GTX 1050

Solution
Okay buying a cpu just for overclocking, is like picking between a Porsche or a Volkswagen with a small engine performance increase, and picking the VW. Clearly if you go with the Porsche in the first place you would be faster no matter what. The 2500k may oc good, but that doesn't mean that it has a higher performance than the 3570k. In fact the 2500K is bad compared to a 3570k, which uses less power, needs less cooling, and probably OC wayy better due to not hitting mobo max tdp as quickly.

CrispyFry

Prominent
Aug 9, 2017
currently using the p8h61-m lx plus r2.0. i already knew that OCing also depends on the MOBO, i think for this chipset z77?, but i saw online somewhere that there are also other models that can OC(?).
P.S. im not in a rush to overclock, i mean i can save up enough money to buy a new MOBO too if need be.

xXxREBELOxXx

Distinguished
Jul 23, 2015
Okay buying a cpu just for overclocking, is like picking between a Porsche or a Volkswagen with a small engine performance increase, and picking the VW. Clearly if you go with the Porsche in the first place you would be faster no matter what. The 2500k may oc good, but that doesn't mean that it has a higher performance than the 3570k. In fact the 2500K is bad compared to a 3570k, which uses less power, needs less cooling, and probably OC wayy better due to not hitting mobo max tdp as quickly.

Solution

mrjack2207

Reputable
Jul 29, 2015
Is there a reason you want these rather old processors ?, are you not able to get a 6th/7th gen I5 ?