[SOLVED] SOLVED: MacOS (no discs) / lost master keychain password/macbook

Status
Not open for further replies.

blackacidevil

Distinguished
Mar 12, 2011
Im new to macs, i have a macbook (8 years old), i need to reinstall the operating system.

I have downloaded some images, but i dont have the orginal discs. the computer was infected with dnschanger virus.

Im unable to make changes, because I dont have the master keychain password, so i assume I have to reinstall.

I only know windows well enough to know all li require to reinstall a windows pc, but not a mac. Do i have everything I need to fix this computer?

There was also a boot disc i saw for macs, which is like hirens, but for the mac systems. anyone remember what it is called.

There are no MacBooks 8 years old; it was introduced in 2006. If you mean an iBook then you need something like this: http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/iBook-G4-Mac-OS-X-Installation-discs-Os-verison-10-3-5-/310422629533?pt=UK_Computing_Software_Software_SR&hash=item4846a16c9d#ht_752wt_64 from eBay, or else a retail version of OS X (depending upon the exact model the latest version it can support is 10.3.9 or 10.4.11). Don't just buy just any old disks from eBay; most of them are model specific and will only work with the model they were supplied with.

blackacidevil

Distinguished
Mar 12, 2011
Well some of the replies were quite interesting.

In regards to the guy who thinks Im trying to bypass a password because this laptop is stolen, thats pretty retarded. Its a customers machine, I don't usually deal with Mac in my business, but there are no mac stores or computer techs in the area and I said I would look at it for him. I've fixed a few before with other issues remotely using logmein.com with my windows system remotely. Yes this is guy is my friend and a customer, and relax, I work on 5 computers/laptops a day.