Specific CPU Questions (Photoshop CC)

Canadacpu

Reputable
Jul 11, 2016
Hi all - first time poster here. I've been scouring the internet trying to find answers to some very specific questions but I am either not finding it, or misinterpreting the info I have been finding - hoping some of you can help.

I want to build a new PC *specifically* for photo editing using Photoshop CC and various related plug-ins. I am a real estate photographer and I spend huge amounts of time waiting on HDR processes to run - any time I can save is well worth the money. I know I want 32GB ram (quad channel DDR4), decent graphics card (probably GTX 1070), PCI SSD (probably Intel 750 for the cool temps and huge IOPS), etc. so that is not a problem - I have questions regarding the CPU.

I do the following things that regularly max out my current CPU (i7 3770k) according to task manager at 97-98%+ in Photoshop CC for very long periods of time:

1) Saving large numbers of 36 MP RAW image files (Nikon D810) to either Jpeg or TIFF

2) NIK HDR Efex Pro2 plug in (merging 3-7, 36MP RAW images to HDR) - this takes forever (probably 2 full minutes per merge) and is primarily what I really want to speed up. Time is money and if I could cut this in half or even by a third it would be huge.

My main question is do I go with more cores or newer tech, fewer cores, and higher clock? The two most obvious current options are the Skylake i7 6700 or Broadwell-E i7 6850K (Puget Systems had a good article suggesting Photoshop CC doesn't do much with anything more than 6 cores which is what I am going off of). The Photoshop benchmark articles also never seem to touch on HDR processing specifically, so I never know what to compare it to.

Cost isn't too much of a concern, but I can't do anything too outrageous (the 10 core Broadwell E is $2500 in Canada and that is not happening).