SSD partial failure after wiping partition table

ciab_ch

Commendable
Mar 21, 2016
Hello!

I manage a fleet of laptops and tablets for our company. As part of their upkeep, we routinely wipe the HDD/SDD and repartition it to install new operating systems via a scripted process. This is done in Windows PE using PowerShell scripts; we don't use Ghost or other cloning products.

I've been doing it the same way for a few years now, yet recently I've had a disturbing problem -- only with the SSD machines, not the ones still using HDDs.

The issue: After some number of repetitions of this process (we do this quarterly, so the number isn't high; maybe 10-20 times), I wipe the drive and repartition, then format the partitions. Typically the SSD will have a small partition of about 2 GB, with the rest allocated to a Windows OS. The small partition formats properly, but then the large one does not -- it may appear to be running but never complete, or it may freeze the whole system after a few minutes.

Details I've gathered over time:
  • ■ Not SSD vendor specific -- this has happened with Intel drives but also with whatever's in the Surface Pro 3.
    ■ Not machine specific -- it's happened with Lenovo machines and with Surface Pro 3.
    ■ GPT or MBR, makes no difference.
    ■ UEFI or BIOS, makes no difference.
    ■ PowerShell, DiskPart, or cmd.exe "format," also makes no difference.

One thing I tried is to pull the drive, which is normally installed as the boot drive, and put it in a caddy, then install that into another machine as a secondary drive. Doing that allowed me to wipe it and repartition by hand. However, this is obviously not an option for the Surface Pro 3, as I cannot remove those drives.

Checking SMART info shows me no obvious red flags; for instance, Intel's Toolbox gave the drives a 100% good status.