[SOLVED] "Stable" OC with way lower vcore than Silicon Lottery suggested?

_dawn_chorus_

Honorable
Aug 30, 2017
I am an OC newb with a delidded 8700k I got through Silicon Lottery, they binned it as stable at 5.1Ghz at 1.412 vcore with -2avx offset. That of course got insanely hot..
So I have sort of started backwards and have moved down to a 5Ghz 1.35 vcore and -1avx offset LLC at medium. So far it has made it through an hour of realbench stress test, an hour of prime95 small FFT avx disabled, and another hour of prime95 blend test, so it is looking pretty stable so far but have yet to do a multi hour run. Stays in low to mid 80's spikes to high 80's.

My main question is how can I have a vcore so much lower than what was recommended by Silicon Lottery with my clock speed only 100mhz less? Does that extra 100mhz really require an entire .6v to be stable?
I feel like I am missing something here because they must be experts but my vcore is so much lower and seems to be stable.
Below are pics of my settings so far. Any other thoughts? Suggestions? What might I be over looking?

8700k dellided
NH-D15
z390 Aorus Pro
32Gb Corsair Vengeance 3600 c16
CorsairRm850x

View: https://imgur.com/a/gGWnV7E

Solution
If you are using offsets, then that might change things a bit, if you are testing with no offsets but plan to use offsets after testing because obviously the use of AVX in games or applications would then not be likely to reach the same thermal peak as with it enabled.

For the purpose of longevity alone, I would certainly never allow a daily driver to be overclocked to a level where it is seeing, at most, 85°C. If you look at the data in the intel temperature guide you'll find that due to thermal degradation and VT shift it specifically says this:

If your hottest Core is near its specified Tj Max Throttle temperature, then your CPU is already too hot. The consensus among well informed and highly experienced reviewers, system...

Lutfij

Titan