Steam Machine Prototype Tear Down on Video

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jgriff

Honorable
Sep 13, 2013
Air flow/ space isn't as important as one would think in PC gaming. Materials, vents, placements, etc contribute more to temps in my experience. I recently moved to a new case (node 304) 1/3 the size of my older case with smaller fans and I got a 10 degree drop on my CPU, and my gpu doesn't hit 80 even with the fans on the lowest setting!

onedos

Honorable
Nov 7, 2012
Looks expensive, I got a gaming rig but my cousins don't I hope its cheap enough so they can afford.

Stevemeister

Distinguished
Mar 18, 2006
This is basically an ITX based PC - my guess would be it will sell for around $1200 based on the equipment specs - a 780 graphics card alone costs ~$650. The good news is we should soon be able to build high end gaming PC's with both Windows and Steam OS's installed and hopefully the latter will run games better without all the extraneous baggage that accompany's Windows and slows everything down.

JD88

Honorable
Feb 25, 2013

It's basically Debian running Gnome and steam and some basic overhead utilities. Should be very lightweight, certainly so when compared to Windows. The performance differences likely won't be apparent though until hardware drivers catch up.

Fierce Guppy

Distinguished
Mar 14, 2011
So it includes an Asus motherboard and an nVidia GTX graphics card and a drive of some sort for storage, and a PSU. Hmmm... fascinating.

...zzzzzzzZZZZZzzzzzzz...

Seriously; why did he even bother removing the bloody cover?

The guy's clearly a novice and doesn't have a lot of experience with pc parts. He was excited to get a youtube video up. I hate videos like this where people take PCs apart all ho-hum-diddly-do. He does correct himself in the comments and notes that it is an ASRock mobo.

Haravikk

Distinguished
Sep 14, 2013