[SOLVED] Steam on Mint 19

chuffedas

Distinguished
Feb 20, 2009
As you will be able to tell, I am new to Linux.
Could somebody please talk me through how to install something correctly?
Let's use Steam as an example if that is ok and appropriate?

I am sure that I have seen it somewhere but can't find it.
So I think I need to install it.

I have been told I should use my distribution's Package manager.
When I search for that, it comes up with Synaptic Package Manager. Is that the same thing?

I searched in the above for Steam and it shows up a few things.
One of which is 'Steam-Installer'.

I feel like I am doing it right, but when I double click, it says it will remove stuff.
So I hope you don't mind, I thought I would check I am on the right lines first.
Cheers.

chuffedas

Distinguished
Feb 20, 2009
Awesome. Thank you.
Bookmarked.
Good to have a known good link to info. I looked up info and got it wrong earlier.

You should see something along of the lines of "Install New Applications" in the Mint menu. Open it, search for steam, click Install.
Thanks.
As such a noob, still trying to jam the new words into this sludge I call a brain.

"Software manager" was where I had seen it before a few days ago and forgot all about its existence.

I was thinking that was for already installed software. Durr.

Don't think I am quite ready for Arch yet, do you?

dmroeder

Distinguished
Jan 15, 2005
Awesome. Thank you.
Bookmarked.
Good to have a known good link to info. I looked up info and got it wrong earlier.

Thanks.
As such a noob, still trying to jam the new words into this sludge I call a brain.

"Software manager" was where I had seen it before a few days ago and forgot all about its existence.

I was thinking that was for already installed software. Durr.

Don't think I am quite ready for Arch yet, do you?

Haha, Arch is for masochists!

delaro

Judicious
Ambassador