News SteamOS Outperforms Windows On the Steam Deck

ezst036

Honorable
Oct 5, 2018
It's not entirely surprising. Windows has long been known both for being a heavier operating system, as well as over long periods of time people have shown repeatedly that Linux is faster.

Linux offers new opportunities for gamers. There are people out there looking to eke out every last frame they possibly can, and for those determined for the highest frame number, it'll be a question whether or not to ditch Windows and go with Linux.

Without getting too far into the weeds but staying well within Valve-land here, Valve created ACO shader compiler. While ACO is not the only example, it is one example of how an open source environment naturally leads to greater things and in particular, how these things can result in greater frames. Microsoft is all closed up.

Mar 14, 2022
Big win for Linux, yes, but not nessarily a win for Steam Deck. I have been using Linux since 2007, been using WINE just as long. Proton is what makes it possible for Steam Deck to run Windows games. It is same as WINE, because Valve collaborated with WINE development team, CodeWeavers, to make Proton, with the goal to bring more of your Steam Library to your Linux setup.

Since it is sharing the same code with WINE, Proton has the same flaw with WINE, like it will not run every single game in the Steam Library, unlike what Valve is advertising on their website for Steam Deck. It has its flaws. To check what game runs on Proton, and your Steam Deck, use ProtonDB, instead of the Steam Deck verification tool.

I will just say this, when a game does run on Proton, it will run better than on Windows. One example being the FF7 Remake Intergrade game, on a Nvidia RTX GPU. Here is reddit post for that
View: https://www.reddit.com/r/linux_gaming/comments/rij30u/final_fantasy_vii_remake_runs_faster_on_linux/