Steely Resolve and equipment

G

Guest

Guest
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

Can I equip a creature of the type choosed with a Steely Resolve in
play?

Steely Resolve
1G
Edition: ON
As Steely Resolve comes into play, choose a creature type.
Creatures of the chosen type can't be the targets of spells or
abilities.

TIA
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

Sesto Pompeo <sestopompeo@iname.com> writes:
> Can I equip a creature of the type choosed with a Steely Resolve in
> play?
>
> Steely Resolve
> 1G
> Edition: ON
> As Steely Resolve comes into play, choose a creature type.
> Creatures of the chosen type can't be the targets of spells or
> abilities.

No. The Equip ability targets the creature.

However, if some equipments were attached, and *then* a Steely Resolve
comes into play, the equipment would stay attached--once they're on
they are no longer targetting the creature; they're just attached to
it.

--
Peter C.
"Are you the person shooting at me?"
"I don't know, are you the person I'm shooting at?"
-- Jessi & I, playing Quake
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

"Sesto Pompeo" <sestopompeo@iname.com> wrote in message
news:n59ob052givgsl4ogebaspcli1cep1c9vj@4ax.com...
> Can I equip a creature of the type choosed with a Steely Resolve in
> play?
>
> Steely Resolve
> 1G
> Edition: ON
> As Steely Resolve comes into play, choose a creature type.
> Creatures of the chosen type can't be the targets of spells or
> abilities.
>
> TIA

I would say not because of the rule of equiping

502.33. Equip

502.33a Equip is an activated ability of artifact Equipment cards. The
phrase "Equip [cost]" means "[cost]: Move this Equipment onto target
creature you control. Play this ability only any time you could play a
sorcery."


this makes it an ability targeting a creature and if it can't be the target
of spells or abilities it can't therefore be equipped


--
Stephen Baird (MOTL) - come to my trade list at
http://forums.magictraders.com/ubbmisc.cgi?action=hwlist&UserName=kali64

my refs - http://refs.magictraders.com/kali64.html



---
Outgoing mail is certified Virus Free.
Checked by AVG anti-virus system (http://www.grisoft.com).
Version: 6.0.687 / Virus Database: 448 - Release Date: 16/05/2004
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

"Sesto Pompeo" <sestopompeo@iname.com> wrote in message
news:n59ob052givgsl4ogebaspcli1cep1c9vj@4ax.com...
> Can I equip a creature of the type choosed with a Steely Resolve in
> play?
>
> Steely Resolve
> 1G
> Edition: ON
> As Steely Resolve comes into play, choose a creature type.
> Creatures of the chosen type can't be the targets of spells or
> abilities.
>
> TIA

I would say not because of the rule of equiping

502.33. Equip

502.33a Equip is an activated ability of artifact Equipment cards. The
phrase "Equip [cost]" means "[cost]: Move this Equipment onto target
creature you control. Play this ability only any time you could play a
sorcery."


this makes it an ability targeting a creature and if it can't be the target
of spells or abilities it can't therefore be equipped


--
Stephen Baird (MOTL) - come to my trade list at
http://forums.magictraders.com/ubbmisc.cgi?action=hwlist&UserName=kali64

my refs - http://refs.magictraders.com/kali64.html



---
Outgoing mail is certified Virus Free.
Checked by AVG anti-virus system (http://www.grisoft.com).
Version: 6.0.687 / Virus Database: 448 - Release Date: 16/05/2004