Strange Memory Problems...

Moonfruit

Distinguished
Apr 24, 2008
Hi there

I made the switch from AMD to Intel yesterday and bought a brand new Asus P5E MB, E8200 CPU, and a Kingston Hyper-X 2GB RAM Kit (model KHX8500D2K2/2GN). I put everything together, popped in a new, clean HDD, and proceeded to try and install Vista. I didn't have much luck because it kept giving me a blue screen during the "Extracting (X%)..." phase, stating something like "MEMORY_MANAGEMENT...".

So I did a bit of digging, and from what I can gather the problem is caused by attempting to extract the files into faulty bits on the RAM. So I put Memtest+ on a floppy disk and booted up on it.

This is my first time using the utility, so I'm a little new at it :) Anyway, with my initial configuration of Dual Channel, it gave me over 100,000 errors before it even passed test 5 of pass 1. I was pretty sure that's unacceptable, so I removed one DIMM and tried again...4 errors in the entire pass 1. I then removed that DIMM and put the other one in the same place...16 errors. Now I'm a little confused as to how I can get a total of 20 errors individually, but over 100K together?

Additional info: my MB came shipped with BIOS 402 and initially didn't recognize my CPU, so I loaded the latest stable relese (602). Also, I'm not really an over-clocker and prefer to run things on stock settings, but one thing troubles me.

I've never played around with memory latency and voltage before, but I did note that my RAM is rated as CAS 5-5-5-15 and 2.2V, but in my BIOS it's set on AUTO (=1.8V) and Memtest reads it as CAS 5-6-6-15. Can this be causing my errors? As far as I can gather its usually only when you set the voltages too high or the latency too low that you have problems.

Or am I mistaken? Should I take my RAM back and have it exchanged? For the same stuff or a different brand? Unfortunately they're all out of Corsair Dominator DDR2 1066MHz 2GB kits, which was my initial choice.