[SOLVED] Streaming Audio Challenge

Oct 6, 2020
I am new to streaming. I have encountered a challenge in adjusting the loudness of music relative to my microphone.

I am using an Intel 11 Gen desktop system that I assembled this spring with an Nvidia 3000 series GPU. I have no performance issues streaming 1080p with OBS @ 6 mbs, recording locally @ 60 mbs while running Skype and PowerPoint. I have no video games. I do presentations for community groups and schools using PowerPoint.

Last evening I ran a streaming test on YouTube with 10 sites around the country. Each was invited to an unlisted stream via email. I requested each to provide me feedback on impressions.

2 of ten commented that the music was too loud and asked me to reduce the level.

I use Windows Media Player to play royalty free music from YouTube. My selections is thus limited. I use an Elgate Wave 3 run through a noise gate and EQ then into OBS. In OBS I have only two inputs, the Mic and the combined output of all other sources including music from the wave link mixing software. I used side chain compression in OBS to reduce the gain of the music by about 5 db whenever I am speaking on the mic channel. I can hear the music level decrease in my monitor but have excluded the mic from the monitor to avoid confusion while I am presenting.

Several of my reviewers have provided complements about the sound quality and they like the music in the background. I now have to decide what to do about the 2 people who claimed the music was too loud. These people are 1600 miles apart and do not know each other.

It occurs to me that some people may be using high quality HiFi systems while others are on poor sounding laptops and or phones. If these systems have poor bass response my deep voice might sound muddy next to the strong mid-range content in the royalty free music.