Temperature Monitoring in Ubuntu 10.04

henrystrawn

Distinguished
Sep 9, 2009
I am new to linux, I tried Ubuntu 9.10, but couldn't get xcomp to work with the ATI GFX card and dual displays. I gave up until lucid lynx was released. Installed easy peasy.

I am dual booting Ubuntu 10.04 amd64 and W7 64. I searched for a temp monitor, with no luck. no im-sensors in the repository, sensors-applet did not work either.

I am spending more and more time in Ubuntu and I just feel naked without access to my cpu/gpu temps.

A little help please.

specs

AMD 955 BE @ 4 Ghz
Gigabyte GA-MA785G-UD3H
XFX ATI HD5770

Solution
That's implying you should run sudo service module-init-tools start or sudo start module-init-tools.

Don't try to understand what that is, they just switched to upstart and changed ( clobbered?!?! ) the way init works.

sudo modprobe it87 should load the kernel mod if it's installed, then you'll be able to run sensors.

Good luck :)

linux_0

Splendid
You'll have to apt-get install lm_sensors or apt-get install lm-sensors ( LM_SENSORS or LM-SENSORS all lower ) and run the detection script. Some boards have really cheapo or proprietary sensor chips on them that aren't supported.

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=879710

http://www.lm-sensors.org/wiki/iwizard/NoSensorsDetected

Don't run random code that you find on the internet without checking that it's safe and secure, there's a lot of idiots on the net. Always use the official repos if you can, if you download something by hand, check the sums and sigs if they're available and scan for viruses.

Debian and ubuntu and other distros sometimes modify the packages so they'll differ from the official source code.

If your board's got a decent sensor chip, it should be detected and it'll probably work, gpu sensors on the other hand can be really tricky.