Archived from groups: rec.games.frp.dnd (
More info?)
Replying to Bill's post, but meant as a general reply, since everyone
(including me) seems to agree on the basic principle...
weis3w3@earthlink.net wrote:
> >Can a druid take Improved Natural Attack (or any other feat for which he
> >fulfills the prerequisites only in animal form)?
> >
> >Can a wizard with polymorph?
>
> Sure, IMO. He only gets use of the feat when he has the preq fulfilled, tho.
What about a bard with master's touch (a 1st level spell that grants you
proficiency with a weapon or shield touched)? Can he take Weapon Focus
(greatsword) and only use it when he fulfills the prerequisite (i.e. has
the spell active)?
What about a 9th-level cleric and Improved Critical? He has the
prerequisite when he has divine power on.
What about a 9th-level rogue and Improved Critical? He too has the
prerequisite when he has divine power on... even if it's only through
scrolls and UMD.
Then there are item creation feats and effects that boost your caster
level...
IMC, I'd rule that you need to be able to fulfill the prerequisite for a
significant amount of time in order to perfect whatever technique calls
for it (feat, PrC, whatever), and then just use subjective judgement on
what "significant amount of time" means on a case by case basis.
But given 3E's rules heavy approach, I find it strange that this is so
lightly covered in the rules. The SRD says "Your character must have the
[...] quality designated in order to select or use that feat.", but what
with the plethora of buffs available, and their widely varying
durations, it's not all that clear what "have" means.
--
Jasin Zujovic
jzujovic@inet.hr