The power cord connected at the back of the PSU melted.

lacsonandrei

Prominent
Dec 24, 2017
Dear tom's hardware community

I would like to ask for advice on what should I do regarding my power supply (PSU) problem. First and foremost, the brand of my PSU is PCbang which is a Korean brand, it is a 600w PSU(those are the only informations I could get so far since everything else is written in Hangul.) I had been using the said PSU for 14 months as of writing this thread, within that period of time I went through 3 different power cords since all of them melted due to intense amount of heat produced by one of the three prongs at the back of the psu where you plug the power cord.

■ Is the PSU defective? If yes, should I buy a new one or is a repairable problem?

■ Would buying a higher quality cord fix this problem?(perhaps it will be able to tolerate higher temperature)

Thank you!

Solution
I doubt this is a voltage issue, current causes heat not voltage and if it was a 110V PSU, then you'd have 1/2 the current going through it that it was designed to take,
A reasonably smart device like a switching power supply will double the input current when you halve the voltage, as output power remains roughly constant. It would halve the current (and quarter the power) if it was a resistive load.

@OP, it's almost certainly a loose connection on the mains input jack in the PSU. This may or may not be able to be fixed.

However, a quality control issue like this casts (extra) doubt on the quality of the rest of the PSU, the PSU has bits inside that can kill you, and a new PSU will be cheaper than the labour to get anyone...

zoltan.boese

Estimable
Jan 30, 2018
May I require a photo?

Look, what I found: https://www.power-plugs-sockets.com/south-korea/