[SOLVED] Too powerful? ... No display ...

Jakehx

Reputable
Mar 31, 2020
Hi guys,

I'm a bit a complete noob, so please bare with me, but I'm pulling my hair out here...

I've installed a new GPU and I am receiving no display when the computer is turned on... The monitor works fine when my old GPU is inserted.

So my computer is a bit out-dated and I suspect some parts are too old to handle the new graphics card I'm trying to run...

My current spec is a cheap setup:

Cougar CMD 600W Digital '80 Plus Bronze' Modular Power Supply
AMD Piledriver FX-6 Six Core 6300 Black Edition 3.50GHz (Socket AM3+) Processor
ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0 Motherboard
16GB (2x8GB) DDR3
Raijintek Aidos Direct Contact CPU Cooler

My current graphics card is MSI GeForce GTX 950 Gaming 2048MB GDDR5 PCI-Express. I've come in possession of a Gigabyte Radeon AMD 5700 XT which I understand is a pretty good card.

I've put my spec, including the new graphics card into pcpartpicker and it suggests that it should run OK with a 600W PSU. I've plugged the PSU into the GPU using the 6+2 pins.

I don't really know what to do. I've looked online and tried the following things to no avail:

Ensure the card is sat properly in the PCI-E slot and connected.
Uninstalled the NVIDIA drivers before inserting the AMD card
Resat the RAM

When the AMD card is sat in the PCI-E slot and the machine is turned on there is power to the card as the the lights on the card itself are lit - the fans aren't spinning because I believe they only come on at a certain temp. However, the monitor does have power, but cannot display a signal. When I put in my old GPU the monitor works fine with no issues. I'm using a 1080p HP monitor and I only have a HDMI cable so I'm unable to plug my monitor directly into the motherboard to enter BIOS and see if the AMD card is recognised.

What else can I try? Please help!

Last edited:
Solution
Definitely a new PSU. Not just that, but get a good quality PSU.