Sep 8, 2021
Hello
My Specs:
  • Mobo: ASUS Maximus XI Extreme
  • CPU: i9-9900k
  • GPU: RTX 2070
  • PSU: Corsair AX1600i
  • Cooling: Custom Waterloop
  • RAM: Corsair Vengeance DDR4 4x8GB 4000Mhz 19-23-23-45 1.35v -> Gskill Trident Z DDR4 4x8Gb
    4000MHz 15-16-16-36 1.5v
So first thing, I'm an overclocking noob. I let AI Suite handle the CPU overclocking, but recently while tinkering with some settings I noticed my RAM (Corsair Vengeance DDR4 4x8GB 4000Mhz 19-23-23-45 1.35v) was running at 2133MHz. I did some research on RAM and learned about the timings and frequency and how they work. Then I fell into the XMP rabbit hole. I found out my RAM was not running at 4000MHz because XMP wasn't enabled in my bios. Easy enough fix I thought, but no. I went to my bios and enabled XMP 2, saved, and rebooted. On the reboot, the mobo flashed a bunch of codes rapidly while the screened remained black, and then it reboots itself. It did that again on the second reboot so I hit both the bios and CMOS reset buttons on the back of the mobo. Reboot again and everything is as it should be, but now I'm back to default settings and my RAM running at 2133MHz. I tried manually adjusting the voltage and timings in the bios to the above specifications and when that didn't work I adjusted them incrementally to see if it would post, but no dice.
From there I decide to run a MemTest. I didn't have any USB sticks lying around so I had to opt for Windows Memory Diagnostics Test at the moment. It runs the test and halfway through it said that hardware failure had been detected, it continued to run the test until about 3/4 of the way when it crashed. I get on new egg and order new RAM sticks (Gskill Trident Z DDR4 4x8Gb 4000MHz 15-16-16-36 1.5v).