[SOLVED] Troubleshooting startup with Memory as culprit

May 31, 2020
I am a new computer builder amd was troubleshooting startup issues. I narrowed my issues down to Memory being the cause of startup failure.

When I use 2 sticks startup is perfectly fine and works correctly. When I add my last 2 sticks (total four) the computer will not bootup. No display shows but lights on the mother board are still active and all parts are still recieving power. The memory sticks are all the same brand and specs. So my question is why does adding the last 2 memory sticks cause start up failure?

Other forums mentioned power issues where the power supply isn't enough. According to PC part picker my needed Watts was 388, my PSU is 450. Another forum mentioned Ram voltage being too high. My intel chip is supposed to be able to support up to 1.35V (1.412) and that's what the ram sticks are.

MSI Z390-A Pro Motherboard
Intel I7 9700k CPU
Vipersteel DDR4 2x8GB 4000MHz

Solution
I am a new computer builder amd was troubleshooting startup issues. I narrowed my issues down to Memory being the cause of startup failure.

When I use 2 sticks startup is perfectly fine and works correctly. When I add my last 2 sticks (total four) the computer will not bootup. No display shows but lights on the mother board are still active and all parts are still recieving power. The memory sticks are all the same brand and specs. So my question is why does adding the last 2 memory sticks cause start up failure?

Other forums mentioned power issues where the power supply isn't enough. According to PC part picker my needed Watts was 388, my PSU is 450. Another forum mentioned Ram voltage being too high. My intel chip is supposed to...

kanewolf

Titan