Question Upgrading GTX960 in Old HP Prebuild, $200 budget

Feb 23, 2023
Hello, I'm trying to upgrade an (I'll admit ancient) HP prebuild (ENVY 700qe) with it's original HP 2AF3 Motherboard, Intel Core i7 4790 @ 3.60GHz, and a 460 Watt PSU. I upgraded the system previously with a 4GB EVGA GTX 960 (low-profile card) and maxed it out with 32.0GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 798MHz RAM.

I'm a professional video editor using the Adobe CC Suite, Premiere Pro, and After Effects. I don't game much on this system anymore but I have started getting into creating AI-generated images in Stable Diffusion and the 4GB GPU is a bottleneck. It maxes out trying to generate anything over 650px x 650px.

I'm looking for another NVIDIA card. Specifically, I was looking at the GTX 1060 6GB or GTX 1070. I would like a card with at least 6GB VRAM or 8GB if there's a lower power card that my PSU can handle. It also needs to be fairly low-profile to fit into the case.

I'm open to buying from any (US) website that has a good price on the card. Since this is such an old computer, my budget is capped at $200. It may not even be worth upgrading and you can let me know below. I'm really just looking at my options to maybe eek out another year or 2 out of this machine.

Monitors: I have 3 monitors total hooked up to this PC: A dual 1080p display setup connected through 2 DVI-D ports.
I also have an 55" 4K TV hooked up through the HDMI port.

Any help is appreciated, thank you!

USAFRet

Titan
Intel Core i7 4790 @ 3.60GHz, and a 460 Watt PSU

I'm a professional video editor using the Adobe CC Suite, Premiere Pro, and After Effects.

Really, you need a whole new PC. Not just a better GPU.

A distinctly better GPU will need a better PSU.
Which may or may not be doable with the proprietary HP motherboard.
And the CPU is ALSO a major limiting factor.

For you, a better PC is a business expense.

Feb 23, 2023
Really, you need a whole new PC. Not just a better GPU.