Using Linux to port files from OS X (power pc) drives to Win 7 drives

mahdulator

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2009
Recently, my Quad G5 mac fried (power pc chipset) and I'm building a new Windows 7 system. I'm trying to figure out the best and fastest way to move all the data from my OS X drives (1 500 gb with files/apps, 1 1 tb with files, 1 external 1 tb with files) on to newly formatted Windows 7 drives.

Furthermore, I would like to install Win 7 on the 500 gb.

My initial thought is to boot the new, fresh system from a Linux disk and move all the files within Linux. Something like this:
In Linux:

1. Move all the files I want to keep from the 500gb on to the 1tb, then format the 500 gb for Win 7.

2. Move all files from old 1tb to new, clean 1 tb

3. Format old 1 tb

At this point, I should be ready to install Win 7 on the 500gb, and have a properly formatted 1 tb with my old files and a clean, formatted 1 tb.

I have no experience with Linux, but it is my understanding that I can mount any/all disks in Linux in order to do the file management and transfer that I need to do.

A few last thoughts...the Mac was the only only I had owned since my Apple IIc so I'm not a stranger to Windows by any means. That is to say, I'm not an overly ignorant mac user jumping in over his head. However, I have not used Windows 7 at all.

So...any thoughts?

1. Can Linux do what I think it can?
2. Is this a good idea for a workflow?
3. Do I even need Linux to do this?

Thanks for any help.

Solution
1. Yes Linux can do this, but I'm not sure whether any of the standard Live CDs contain the necessary modules to read Mac partitioned disks and HFS+ file systems.
2. Workflow sounds fine. It's not a particularly complicated operation.