Question Way behind the times, looking for upgrade help.

satman333

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2007
I am a self employed electronics technician and musician. I do PC/ laptop/ screen repair and service, networking, CCTV camera systems, home theater installation, a bit of circuit level repairs and have a home office . I play guitar, bass and keyboards and do some music programming/MIDI/DAW. I have a HTPC / Media setup in my living room but 8-10 hours a day are spent on the road and in my office / workroom with my main PC. Here is where I need some help.
My old friend has served me well for a long time but it is clearly on it's last legs. I am looking to upgrade the motherboard /cpu /ram to something better,
I have tried to research this myself but the majority of reviews and suggestions have to do with gaming rigs. I do not game and I'm just too overwhelmed with life right now to do this myself.
This community has always served me well, I have used it many times to research customers questions so now I will trust you with my own.

My system is ancient: (Please don't laugh . Snort. Who am I kidding?)
Asus M4A87 motherboard
AMD Phenom II x4 955 CPU 3.2 ghz
16GB ram
Windows 10 pro.
Full ATX Case
Surprisingly, with a SSD it is serviceable for my current needs. .

Right now I use the system for a work computer (internet, research, office tasks, diagnostics on external hardware, data recovery)
media playback, file server, minor audio production listed above.

Here are my desired features for a new system:

New Motherboard /CPU / RAM. I can deal with all the rest.
Priorities:
Maximum bang for the buck, I'm just a poor boy from a poor family. I only get to upgrade every 6-8 years.
I clearly have no issues with older hardware. Something from several generations back that will do the job and can be upgraded in the future is preferred.
Maximum motherboard expandability and upgradability. (PCI slots, M2, Sata , Cpu, memory)