What happens when a CRT monitor dies?

lutherl

Reputable
Nov 6, 2015
I'm picking up an old school HP CRT monitor from a neighbor to compliment a vintage Vectra XA-6 I just finished fixing. Naturally, as with all displays, I don't expect this thing to last forever. What happens when a CRT monitor stops working? I would like to know any possible components that could lead to failure (Power supply, transformer, electron guns, capacitors, ect.) and most importantly the effects. Unfortunately I'm a bit paranoid as I haven't owned a CRT for more than 2 years at a time and I'm planning to keep this one until its demise.

Let me know about your experience with a CRT that died in your presence or your professional knowledge about what happens. All I can find online are small tidbits because ya know, it's 2017.

Thanks in advance!

I'm no pro tech, but I'll give you my thoughts: You take it to a recycler of old electronics, that's what. I still have three of my four of my old CRT monitors, one being a monochrome 600x480 from a Packard Bell DX2 486. My favorite is a 1600x1200 19" Sony Trinitron from 2000.

My 1998 1280x1024 Dell 17" Trinitron (made by Sony) kicked the bucket years ago when LCDs were just coming into main stream (2007 or so). I gutted it hoping I could salvage some components for my 19". But I found out from a repair tech that most of the components were all different and not interchangeable except in the exact same model (different voltages of components, etc.). Kind of like in today's LCDs.

CRTs are going to be museum pieces one day in the near future and kids are going to say "what the heck is that big fat ugly thing?" Some are already saying that.

It's also extremely dangerous to go poking around in a CRT monitor, even after being unplugged for extremely long periods of time, like months. The components can hold deadly levels of electricity still after what you'd think would be a safe time period.

When they're dead, they're dead.