Discussion What I learned about the Asus Proart combo

Jul 12, 2024
[Moderator Note: Moving thread from Systems to Opinions and Experiences. More applicable.]

Hi,

I am just adding this to the experience pile. First, I must say that I am no expert on PC building, but I learned a few things that were not in the manual while building this system.

Motherboard: Asus Proart Creator Z790 Wifi
Case: Asus Proart 602A
Power supply: Bequiet! Dark Power 1600
Cooler: Asus LC420 AIO
Processor: Intel i9 14900K
Memory: 4 x 48GB Crucial
GPU: Asus Proart RTX 4080 Super

The manuals were a bit lacking in certain areas. I had to rely on trial and error to figure out some of the nuances of this build. Here is the list so far. Read all of them before you start.
In no particular order:

1. The radiator's build order differs from that specified in the LC 410 manual for the Proart case. The motherboard manual has the correct instructions.

2. When it says to plug the fan into the motherboard from the case hub, plug it into the CPU Fan header. It works fine in all the other ones, but there is a gotcha: The BIOS whinges that the CPU Fan header is not attached. This can be overcome by switching off the warning. This decision appears in other Windows applications that are in the BIOS, but it controls fans and makes things a bit messy.

3. The radiator has three fans, and a 3-way splitter cable is provided. Do not use the splitter cable. Plug the radiator fans into the three spaces along with the rest of the case fans. I tried splitting the fans onto different headers to get better control, but all the options made it sound like a plane taking off. Once I used the provided hub, a quiet desktop was instant. I tried fiddling with the fan control in the BIOS and Windows without any useful results.