What is the difference between Tom's Hardware and Tom's Guide?

Maineman

Distinguished
Dec 16, 2010
I have been posting on Tom's Hardware for 10 years and didn't know about Tom's Guide until now. Is posting the same question on both websites redundant? I am guessing but is Tom's Hardware more for info and Tom's Guide more like a how to guide?

You know. Until now I didn't know the mobile phones section was there. I just assumed it didn't exist. I'm just curious why Tom's doesn't merge the forums? A perfect time would've been during the cluster duck when the forums software was changed a while back and we lost all our awards.

It's very confusing and totally unintuitive. I'm a long time veteran of these forums and I still forget about Tom's Guide. I'd hate to think of what it's like for newbs trying to get questions answered about something like smartphones.

Also not sure why phones and tablets aren't considered computer stuff. It's not like we're talking about Startacs. They are most definitely computers. Perhaps a simplified OS and user interface. But still a computer. Often with mouse, keyboard and external display support. With newer iPad OS versions and technologies like DEX blurring the lines even more.

There's also a lot of redundancy between the forums adding to confusion.

I'd think it would ultimately easier to run one forum than two.

Rogue Leader

It's a trap!
You know. Until now I didn't know the mobile phones section was there. I just assumed it didn't exist. I'm just curious why Tom's doesn't merge the forums? A perfect time would've been during the cluster duck when the forums software was changed a while back and we lost all our awards.

It's very confusing and totally unintuitive. I'm a long time veteran of these forums and I still forget about Tom's Guide. I'd hate to think of what it's like for newbs trying to get questions answered about something like smartphones.