Question What is the point of buying a more powerful CPU if I need to overclock?

Buchinski13

Reputable
Apr 18, 2015
Hey everyone, amateur here, so forgive me if title question is dumb.

So, I decided to upgrade from my current CPU. I'm in the market for a CPU that can, alongside my GPU, give me the best performance possible when it comes to gaming, at 1080p and 60FPS. Preferably with a decent stock cooler. I´ve posted in other forums, the main recommendation being a Ryzen 2600 5 with overclock. But I thought the whole point of buying a more powerful processor was to hold off on overclocking until it starts showing it's age? Like I said, I'm no expert when it comes to computer hardware.

Just in case, these are my current system specs:
-GPU: ASUS GTX1070
-CPU: Intel Quad Core i7 2600k 3.4GHz
-RAM: 16GB
-Monitor Resolution: 1920x1080, 60Hz
-Motherboard: Intel DZ68D8
-Power Supply: Thermaltake Smart Series 80 Plus, Smart 700W

So, I decided to upgrade from my current CPU. I'm in the market for a CPU that can, alongside my GPU, give me the best performance possible when it comes to gaming, at 1080p and 60FPS. Preferably with a decent stock cooler. I´ve posted in other forums, the main recommendation being a Ryzen 2600 5 with overclock. But I thought the whole point of buying a more powerful processor was to hold off on overclocking until it starts showing it's age? Like I said, I'm no expert when it comes to computer hardware.

Well the AMD CPU's are weak in gaming overall compared to the Intel CPU's, that's the reason for the recommended OCing. It really shows up at 1080 too, so you would start out behind from the beginning and OCing won't help because you already did it. BAD ADVICE all the way around.

There is nothing wrong with your current machine now other than that junk PSU.

However if you do want to upgrade, it would be MB, CPU, PSU and RAM and to Windows 10.