[SOLVED] What RAM to get for ryzen 5 3400g?

osvasas

Commendable
Nov 3, 2018
Hi, I am currently looking for an “upgrade”, since at the moment I have a i5 4gen and want to switch to AMD. I am new to ryzen processors, and a friend of mine got me a ryzen 5 3400g and a motherboard asrock b450m hdv rev4. Looking at the specs, the processor says that support until 2933 ram, but the motherboard says it supports until 3200. Which one should I be looking for? Since I would need to order them through internet to my country and I will not be able to return them if they are not compatible.

Thanks!

Solution
Hi, I am currently looking for an “upgrade”, since at the moment I have a i5 4gen and want to switch to AMD. I am new to ryzen processors, and a friend of mine got me a ryzen 5 3400g and a motherboard asrock b450m hdv rev4. Looking at the specs, the processor says that support until 2933 ram, but the motherboard says it supports until 3200. Which one should I be looking for? Since I would need to order them through internet to my country and I will not be able to return them if they are not compatible.

Thanks!

Hi,

Ryzen CPU's can be a bit fussy with memory so it's worth checking... thankfully the motherboard vendors test memory kits so easiest option is to find a memory kit that is tested and approved. The cpu you have is a...

Thanks!

Hi,

Ryzen CPU's can be a bit fussy with memory so it's worth checking... thankfully the motherboard vendors test memory kits so easiest option is to find a memory kit that is tested and approved. The cpu you have is a 'Picasso' APU (the sites list the cpu ranges by the official code names provided by AMD):
https://www.asrock.com/MB/AMD/B450M-HDV R4.0/index.asp#MemoryPS
For some reason, looks like Asrock have only tested one memory kit with your cpu.