Question What software can i use to open configuration files of AOE Game ?

Apr 26, 2019
Hello !
I've just recently reinstalled "Age of Empires: Dawn of the Modern World" because i wanted to try it out again to refresh some memories after 10+ years.
Now since the game is way outdated and there are a few things that bug me, i'd like to make some changes, since its a lot easier now to make changes yourself in configuration files. Its an offline game so the changes affect only me.
I've managed to change a few things already using "Notepad++" to fix a few things within the game files, but im currently stuck, not being able to change more due to some weird file extensions.
The files end in .dat, .cem, .udf, and so on. They all have the same encoded text (NULL, ETX, BS, SOH,..) inside when i try to open them with Notepad++ and its unreadable.
Im no expert in those things, so im asking for a suggestion what software can i use to edit the files.
You can check the screenshot i've attached below.
Thanks !

SCREENSHOT

Apr 26, 2019
Im not really sure, but as i keep reading different forums on the same problem, it seems that those configuration files are encrypted and can only be accessed with a password which is kept by developers, meaning i cannot do anything to change them.
Am i correct or is there a way around this ?

Not necessary, these files could contain configuration data stored in binary format instead of plain text. That is, instead of "Armor type: Steel", there would be a binary number like 12, and "Armor type: Paper" would be stored as 13. And yes, you won't find a dictionary unless you're developer, or someone did reverse-engineering.

Reactions: Elrab
due to some weird file extensions.
The files end in .dat, .cem, .udf, and so on.

.dat files are generic data files that are created when you do a task in a program. typically, you wouldnt need to "view" them to change any values for any kind of fixes as these are randomly filled with data.