Question Whats going on with my pc? It keeps randomly crashing freezing bluescreening etc.

Jun 24, 2023
My pc the last week or two has been very weird,its been freezing crashing bluescreening restarting itself turning itself on randomly at night overclocking itself even tho i set it to underclock the cpu fan has been running at nearly 7k rpm (its rated for 3-4k from what ive seen) and i turned two of the cores from the cpu off but it still does this

For context im running an minitower case with no side pannel an 90mm exhaust fan on the back an amd fx6300 with the fifth and sixth cores turned off the base cooler from the cpu an rx470 4gb fac oc and 8gb of ram an 120gb ssd and an 750w psu (the 750w psu is new i only have it for a month or so before that i had an 650w psu and an rx550 4gb)
The last year and a half its been running perfectly but just now its starting to act up and im unsure wether its the cpu psu vrm's ssd or mobo
IM not that good with pc so i though i should ask for advice

Misgar

Notable
Mar 2, 2023
The only way I know to get a normal 12V CPU fan to run at 7,000RM is to feed it with 24 to 30V DC. It won't last long!

How are you measuring the fan speed? Small 30mm and 40mm fans often run at 4,000 to 6,000RPM.

How big is your CPU fan? 80mm, 120mm, 140mm, etc.

I'd set the BIOS back to stock and start afresh. Something is very wrong if you need to disable two cores.

Did the problem start after fitting the 750W PSU. Is it a 'Tier A - High end' PSU or a 'Tier F - Replace immediately' (see list below).

https://cultists.network/140/psu-tier-list/

Jun 24, 2023
The only way I know to get a normal 12V CPU fan to run at 7,000RM is to feed it with 24 to 30V DC. It won't last long!

How are you measuring the fan speed? Small 30mm and 40mm fans often run at 4,000 to 6,000RPM.

How big is your CPU fan? 80mm, 120mm, 140mm, etc.

I'd set the BIOS back to stock and start afresh. Something is very wrong if you need to disable two cores.