[SOLVED] When formatting a drive

nbartolo7

Reputable
Sep 4, 2017
316
7
4,685
0
that had an OS before and currently still has it, to be sure that nothing is left, is it better to do a non-quick format, or quick is fine?

Also, is it true that "allocation unit size" option should always be switched to "default allocation size" before formatting? Why is that important?
 

USAFRet

Titan
Moderator
Mar 16, 2013
154,738
11,276
176,090
24,155
that had an OS before and currently still has it, to be sure that nothing is left, is it better to do a non-quick format, or quick is fine?

Also, is it true that "allocation unit size" option should always be switched to "default allocation size" before formatting? Why is that important?
With a former OS drive, you should delete all partitions in Disk Management.
Not simply a "format" within File Explorer.

Or, commandline function diskpart, and the clean command.
 
Reactions: nbartolo7

USAFRet

Titan
Moderator
Mar 16, 2013
154,738
11,276
176,090
24,155
that had an OS before and currently still has it, to be sure that nothing is left, is it better to do a non-quick format, or quick is fine?

Also, is it true that "allocation unit size" option should always be switched to "default allocation size" before formatting? Why is that important?
With a former OS drive, you should delete all partitions in Disk Management.
Not simply a "format" within File Explorer.

Or, commandline function diskpart, and the clean command.
 
Reactions: nbartolo7

nbartolo7

Reputable
Sep 4, 2017
316
7
4,685
0
With a former OS drive, you should delete all partitions in Disk Management.
Not simply a "format" within File Explorer.

Or, commandline function diskpart, and the clean command.
I did all that. But then, when doing new simple volume to reactivate the drive, should I choose quick format or uncheck it? Since it was previously an OS drive, maybe I should do a thorough format?
 
that had an OS before and currently still has it, to be sure that nothing is left, is it better to do a non-quick format, or quick is fine?

Also, is it true that "allocation unit size" option should always be switched to "default allocation size" before formatting? Why is that important?
If you are going to sell or give away the drive and are worried that your data is going to be retrieved then you have to run something like dban, which wipes any hdd on your system so be careful and remove any other drive you might have.
Or from within windows you can run CCleaner and use the wipe free space option on the hdd you want to erase it defaults to 3 times overwrite I think which is the standard for governments but 1 time is enough if it's just for trivial data, it will take a long time because it will write to every part of your drive.
 
Reactions: nbartolo7

ASK THE COMMUNITY