Question Why is my 5700x CPU throttling to 550MHz after 5 mins of running Cinebench?

Apr 16, 2023
Specs:
CPU: Ryzen 5700x
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master MA620P
Thermal Paste: Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut
GPU: Radeon RX 6900 XT
MOBO: Gigabyte AB350 Gaming 3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 3200MHz 16CL 32GB
PSU: EVGA 850 G2
Case: Silverstone RL06

BIOS Settings(Latest Bios & Chipset Update):
PBO = On
XMP = On

Envoronmental Temp = 26c

HWiNFO64 Screenshots:
View: https://imgur.com/a/FcLjWP2

I recently upgraded my CPU, CPU cooler, GPU, RAM, and have noticed my CPU throttling down to 550MHz after running Cinebench for a bit over 5mins. It seems like it's some sort of thermal throttling but the CPU is only reaching 84c when max temp is 95c so I'm a little confused. I have a decent CPU cooler, case, and I made sure to apply a generous amount of thermal paste to the CPU. I do have an older motherboard so maybe that's causing some sort of thermal bottleneck? I am no expert at this stuff so I appreciate any help I can get on finding out what the issue is.

that chipset is very old , those original AM4 motherboards often have
various issues running 5xxx series CPUs .
AMD originaly didn´t even intended to support new 5xxx cpus on those oldest AM4 chipsets .
also that motherboards VRM is low end and
it might not be capable to properly handle 8 core chip with PBO enabled -
VRM might be getting too hot if you put maximum pressure on your CPU .

you invested into a 1 000 dollars video card (give or take a little) and a new cpu -
maybe it´s time to spend extra 150-200 bucks and buy a decent B550 motherboard
MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK and ASUS ROG STRIX B550-A GAMING
can both be find below 200 dollars .

Last edited:
Reactions: kurdtnz and KyaraM
Specs:
CPU: Ryzen 5700x
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master MA620P
Thermal Paste: Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut
GPU: Radeon RX 6900 XT
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 3200MHz 16CL 32GB
PSU: EVGA 850 G2
Case: Silverstone RL06

BIOS Settings(Latest Bios & Chipset Update):
PBO = On