Windows 7 Does not boot when i put in a GPU

EZTTofficial

Reputable
Feb 13, 2015
EDIT: If you have a problem with your core2quad here has no actual solutions. Please do not waste your time scrolling through. I'm sorry if you came here looking for actual answers but here is more of a suggestion thread on where to go.

Right. I've been following Tom's Hardware for awhile now but this is my first time making a thread.
I'm not sure of how to start so I'll list my computer specs first

Mobo: Biostar G31 M70-te
Processor: Intel Core 2 Quad Q8200 @2.11 GHz (underclocked)
PSU: VIOS ATX-500wf12
Casing: some random ATX casing from iCute
RAM: 1+2 GB of RAM (kingston i think. They work though, been using them for awhile now.)
GPU: Sapphire Radeon HD 5450 1GB (this is the variable though)

And that's about it, on to the problem. Before the core 2 quad, i was using a core 2 duo clocked at 2.93 GHz base clock. I was pretty content with it for about 4 years-ish before deciding to upgrade where i got myself that Q8200. Initially when i booted windows, it crashed right when the orbs appeared. I went into BIOS and realised that it was clocked to 2.66 GHz, so i toned it down to 2.11 just to be sure. After that, it booted into windows fine. I shut it down and put in the Radeon HD 5450. After pressing the power button, there was no beep. The BIOS did not boot at all (nothing shown on display despite fans running)

Afterwards, I thought the GPU might be faulty so i removed it and ran off integrated graphics, where it crashed at the orb loading screen again!?! I'm not sure of what the problem is as everything runs fine when i put back my core 2 duo @ 2.93 GHz.

Also, before anyone asks me to scrap the system and buy a newer one, this rig is meant as a bare minimum HTPC with a bit more rendering muscle so the speed isn't as necessary. (Partly due to budgeting issues but i'll leave that for now)

Solution