Windows 7 "soft freezing" and CPU reaching 100%

Kaltia

Commendable
Sep 26, 2016
I've been pulling my hair out of the weirdest issue for the past five months.

I just built a custom PC earlier this year and was using Windows 8.1 for a while and decided to switch over to Windows 7.
In doing this I've been having a really bad issue with my CPU maxing out at 100% for a second or two and my entire system freezing when this happens.
I ran virus scans to see if there might be a virus, did a memory check to see if I had a bad stick of RAM, checked to see if my OS drive was failing in some way. I went as far as to do a fresh install of Windows. Everything I've tried hasn't solved the problem and I'm losing my mind over this issue.

Specs: Windows 7 Pro 64x
Intel i7 4790K (OC'd) 4.2Ghz
MSi Z97 Gaming 5 Motherboard
16GB Kingston 1866 MHz RAM
MSi GTX 960
Corsair RM650 Power Supply

Has your W7 updated the service pack. Maybe the cause.
Try clearing CMOS back to default as your OC may be unstable.
If you can then run Windows without crashing, Check in Task Manager as to which service is hogging the system.
There are also other things that can cause this issue.

Please report back.

Kaltia

Commendable
Sep 26, 2016

Alright just set my BIOS settings back to default and removed my OC like you said.
Yes, I do have the latest service pack.
From what I've tested so far as odd as it maybe I think my USB Controller Drivers might be causing an issue. Just in case I uninstalled those drivers.

Be back within three days to report if it's fixed or not.

Kaltia

Commendable
Sep 26, 2016

So I'm back a lot sooner than I had hoped to be.
I was listening to some music while playing a game on my computer, and all of a sudden my PC started to freeze or seize up for about a second about three times all in the course of about thirty to thirty-five seconds.