Windows 8 - constantly swapping to App screen and resizing text size etc.

tAKticool

Honorable
Apr 10, 2013
Hi all-

Got me a brand new laptop computer ... about 36 hours old now :) Acer Aspire V5-552PG-X469 (which apparently is identical to the V5-552PG-X809).

Anyway I am new to Windows 8 ... and I am having this big problem where the screen keeps constantly switching to the Windows 8 "Apps" screen where there are all the built-in program boxes. At first I Googled it and someone said to disable switching when you swipe in from the left edge. I did that and it still didn't help. So then I disabled App switching to recent apps, still keeps happening.

Then I googled some more, someone said it was App notifications, each time the sports or weather or news box got something it was switching back to that screen? Well who knows if that is true, I disabled notifications for apps, still keeps happening.

So I am now not sure at all, while I am using Google Chrome (often I am using Chrome for my various activities) it keeps switching to the Windows screen so I have to be doing something I do not realize or am activating something/have some sort of setting wrong... Please help if possible!

Thanks much!

Solution
Well I came back to this to post "my own" answer/solution if you will , because I thought maybe anyone might be interested or it might help someone down the road.

I have spent the past week seriously trying to figure this out. The past 48 hours or so I spent with serious attention focused on why some sort of gesture of mine was *constantly* bringing up the Start menu. I am right handed, I am positive it was a right-fingered (either single finger, index finger, or possibly thumb, but more and more it was happening with my single index finger on the Track pad) and a simple touch and then movement would bring up the Start menu.

I got into the Synaptics settings many times, going over them with a methodical precision, and could not find...

tAKticool

Honorable